niennie

twenty-something. girly girl. teacher. puppy-enthusiast.

New Year’s Goals

Leave a comment

Several years ago, I thought I was clever.  Maybe that’s a lie, because I still do think I’m clever, but that’s besides the point.  Anyway, a few years ago, I made a resolution that I would never again make a New Year’s Resolution.  Why?  It’s not because I think I’m perfect, or I’m anti-goal setting… but I feel that it is entirely too socially acceptable to attempt your resolution for the first few weeks of the year and then completely fail at or give up on them.  Maybe it’s just me, but really, why make a resolution if you know that you’re just going to end up throwing it out the window in a month?  Asking yourself why you should try to keep it when everyone else stopped theirs?

I have kept that resolution well.  For a few years, I didn’t make any resolutions at all.  But then I started to get antsy because I do like setting goals and working to make myself better… and I then began setting New Year’s Goals for myself (yes, a matter of semantics I know, but it soothes my brain regardless).  Goals are less seasonal and more likely to be kept and worked on throughout the year.

Now that I’ve taken up two paragraphs of your life primarily about the reason why I use the word “goals” instead of “resolutions” I can finally actually tell you what mine are.

In no particular order, I give you: Niennie’s 2014 Goals

1.  Live a Healthier Life.  Probably one of the most common in the world, but really… I’ve put on weight that I worked hard to lose.  I don’t feel comfortable in my body anymore – or in half of my clothes because they no longer fit.  I need to eat less processed foods and more fresh fruits, veggies, and lean proteins.  Along with this, exercise, exercise, exercise.  Once upon a time I got more than my money’s worth out of my gym membership.  Now, I pay the gym to sit at home and eat pizza and candy and drink wine.  I don’t necessarily want to go all uber-strict calorie counting (which was what I did the first time)… honestly, I just want to feel good about myself.  And I know that I feel good about myself when I eat nutritious foods and work out.  Love myself first, treat my body well, and then worry about losing weight again.  Right?  Right.

2.  Be more positive.  While I like to believe I am an optimistic person naturally, I do have a tendency to complain.  A lot.  About everything.  I want less negativity in my life, though, and I think that complaining less will help to cleanse me a bit.  What do you do when you complain?  You focus on something negative.  You get more and more upset about something that really isn’t that bad.  Your energy affects those around you.  Instead, by changing what you can change, trying to accept what you can’t, and focusing on positives rather than negatives in your life you can be a good influence on those around you.  I would prefer to be a good influence on those around me.

3.  Calm down.  I have terrible anxiety.  I worry about everything, I shake my leg almost constantly, and my heart races at the drop of a pin.  I want to work on controlling my anxiety by being more cognizant of what causes me to become upset and actively work on talking myself OUT of a panic attack, not INTO one (which I have done, many times before).  Along with this, I need to practice meditating and being introspective: identifying my state of mind and body and work on relaxing both.  Diet and exercise might help (see goal 1), and focusing on the positive in life will too (see goal 2).

4.  Be a better communicator.  Considering that I’m a teacher and talk all day long, I’m not very good at communicating.  Okay, maybe I’m just much better at communicating with 6-and-7-year-olds than 26-and-27-year-olds.  Heh heh.  Regardless, I know this is a weakness of mine and that I need to sincerely work on articulating my thoughts and feelings in a neutral way, controlling my tone of voice and delivery so that I am neither offensive nor defensive in the conversation.  This is probably going to be one of the most difficult goals for me to accomplish, because I don’t really know where to start or how to change these habits…

5.  Write.  I feel like I’m off to a strong start with this blog, but I just hope that I continue to write in it consistently.  Once school starts up again I have a hunch that I will be busy and neglect this project.  I don’t really want that to happen, so I will have to make a point of making time to write on a regular basis.  Also, I need to work on coming up with better endings/closings/ways-to-wrap-up-posts because I’m pretty bad at that…

According to my calculations, I still have 30 hours and 17 minutes until the New Year, so if you will excuse me I’m going to eat my veggie chips and watch Game of Thrones with my boyfriend.

Author: niennie

My endless stream of musings and rambling thoughts stem from my loquacious tendencies and intrinsic need to communicate with members of society. Mostly this blog is a place for me to talk about my passions - teaching, reading, cooking, my family, my lover - and is a tool for me to work on being more introspective.

Leave a Reply

