niennie

twenty-something. girly girl. teacher. puppy-enthusiast.

The Dichotomy of First Grade Resolutions

Leave a comment

Ahh, it was so good to be back at school today!  Getting up at 5:20 was difficult after only having falling asleep shortly after midnight, but it was worth it to be back in my classroom again.

We even got through telling time quarter-to and quarter-past without too much pain, which I was pleasantly surprised at.  Not that it matters, because having 6 and 7 year olds tell time to those measures is completely developmentally inappropriate, but I don’t write the curriculum here… I just follow it.

One of the best parts of the day, though, was discussing our New Year’s Resolutions.  It wasn’t even the resolutions I was that excited about, it was really the fact that we finally got to use the multicultural construction paper I had ordered when we were making ours faces.  The fact that the students were just as excited as me to use paper that matched their skin tone was the highlight of my day!

I did this same activity last year, but I think my students this year were a little more on the ball with coming up with different and interesting resolutions.  I chose just two to share with you because I love the contrast they provide.  Not necessarily my best artists in the class, but two hard workers nonetheless.

Image

 

Image

 

I’m so glad that the youth of today have their priorities straight.

Author: niennie

My endless stream of musings and rambling thoughts stem from my loquacious tendencies and intrinsic need to communicate with members of society. Mostly this blog is a place for me to talk about my passions - teaching, reading, cooking, my family, my lover - and is a tool for me to work on being more introspective.

Leave a Reply

