niennie

twenty-something. girly girl. teacher. puppy-enthusiast.

Lone Survivor – 3

Leave a comment

I just finished Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell.  I’m sure you’ve heard of the movie that just came out featuring Mark Wahlberg, Eric Bana, and that attractive blonde who also played Charlie Prince in the new 3:10 to Yuma.

I saw the movie first this past weekend with my boyfriend and absolutely loved it.  It was incredibly intense and emotional – I cried numerous times during the movie.  However, even though it was depressing, I felt that there was an uplifting portion of the movie that restored my faith in humanity (well, a little anyway).  After the movie I immediately consulted the interwebs to see if this was based on a true story and lo and behold, it was!  I bought the e-book and happily burrowed into it.

The book was just as intense as the film and I was pleasantly surprised at how closely the movie followed the book.  The book had the added interest of Luttrell discussing his SEAL training, which I found fascinating.  Yes, at times his very conservative opinions show through, but overall the book was amazing and I could not put it down.  Again, the story of the Pashtun Afghanis and their tradition of lokay astounded me and touched my heart.

I don’t want to say anymore and ruin the story if you haven’t seen or heard about it… but I highly recommend this one!

Author: niennie

My endless stream of musings and rambling thoughts stem from my loquacious tendencies and intrinsic need to communicate with members of society. Mostly this blog is a place for me to talk about my passions - teaching, reading, cooking, my family, my lover - and is a tool for me to work on being more introspective.

Leave a Reply

