niennie

twenty-something. girly girl. teacher. puppy-enthusiast.

What Would You Do?

Leave a comment

What Would You Do?

I know that Edward Hotspur said “answer this in the comments!” but it’s one of my pet peeves to leave obnoxiously long comments so I chose to steal the questions and create a post around them instead.

I am having a realization at this time that I tend to do a lot of these types of posts.  Is that a bad thing?

Oh, who gives a hoot.  This is my blog, right?  Exactly.  I knew you’d agree with me!

1. There is a timer ticking down to the time you will meet your soulmate. Where do you go? Stay near your current address? Travel that day? Stay single even if it means you won’t meet them until your 40s or 50s?

This question implies that I have not yet my soulmate yet, and seeing as how I am in a committed relationship right now, that worries me.  Okay, so let’s pretend that my current boyfriend is not my soulmate.  If that were the case, I would not just break up with him because there’s some elusive magical timer that is counting down the hours, minutes, seconds until I meet my “true” soulmate.  I’m more of a person who likes to see where things go, because what is meant to be will happen, and if it’s not meant to be then something will come up to prevent it from coming to fruition.  I love my boyfriend so I see no need to end this relationship just based on this fact.  Of course, now I am thinking that just because the timer is ticking down and you meet this so-called “soulmate,” the question is NOT implying that you will choose to be with that person – so I may choose to stay with my boyfriend, meet this other soulmate, and then continue to be with my boyfriend.  Or I could be with my boyfriend, meet the soulmate, and tell my boyfriend to go eff himself while I get together with the soulmate… Which is incredibly low-class.

2. Same thing, only it’s ticking down to your death. Does your life change because of this knowledge? Do you live more recklessly because of it? Do you refrain from having children if your life will be short?

I think it depends on when my death is.  If I’m going to die in a year, then yes I’m changing my life – I’m going to travel more, spend time with friends and family, all those things.  I would toy with the idea of quitting my job, but I really love my job so I don’t think I would.  Not right away at least.  If the timer is ticking down to a death in my 30’s or 40’s, then I would definitely consider not having children, because that’s a lot to put a young person through for no reason.  Hell, I’m almost 26… if I had a baby this year they would, at most, be 14 when I died.  But I don’t know if I would want to deprive my boyfriend of not having children at all either.  If I was going to die at 35 or 40, I’m not sure if I would stay with my boyfriend though.  I don’t know if I would want him to go through that loss and then look for a new love.  I think it would be easier for him to start over now.  I would at least need to give him the option to back out now.  This question is really depressing me so I’m going to move to the next one…

3. You can go back to any point in your life and relive it, but you keep your current knowledge. You start again from that point. If it makes it easier, you can do this on your deathbed so you don’t miss anything in ‘this’ life. When do you go to, and why? What do you change, if anything?

Tricky question.  I wouldn’t want to relive my life from any point, honestly.  That just seems like a lot of work to do all over again.  I usually say that I wouldn’t change anything about my past because it’s made me who I am today, and I like me.  But there is one situation I would change if I could.  Years ago, when I was a very, very stupid teenager, I was dating a much older man (I was 19, he was 31).  It was not a healthy relationship.  This man took advantage of me in a very personal, intimate, and unforgivable way.  If I could go back and change anything in my life, I would’ve sucker punched him in the face, called him out for the douche bag that he was, and left the apartment right then and there.

4. You can go forward to any point in your life, live for a week, and come back. What age would you visit? And would you change anything?

I don’t think I would want to go forward to any point.  I would feel too much anxiety/pressure that I would inadvertently change something I didn’t want to change, and obsess over the things I would want to change.

5. You can clone yourself. Or, a duplicate of yourself shows up. Would you take turns trading lives? Would you trust the other you to do the same things you do now? Would you switch daily, or some larger period? Would you tell your spouse? Would you sleep with yourself, with or without your spouse? Would it be cheating if the other you slept with your spouse?

I am a control freak and often distrustful so no, that clone AKA impostor would not be allowed to trade lives with me.  I would not trust them.  I would tell my boyfriend that a clone of me showed up because that’s just strange.  I don’t know if I would want to sleep with myself, but yes I do consider that cheating.  They may look like me, but they are not the same person as me.  That would be like identical twins being able to do each other without consequences or labels of cheating.

6. Once in your life, you can kill someone penalty-free. Do you kill anyone? This isn’t mercy-killing, execution or self-defense. This is cold-blooded murder, one per lifetime.  Do you save it for a “rainy day”, or do you plan on one person and just wait for the right time?

No, no, and no.  No.  No no no.  I couldn’t do it.  I feel guilty killing bugs.  I feel awful when I accidentally kill a butterfly, bird, or squirrel while driving.  Human and animal torture makes me feel sick inside.  I have no desire to kill anyone!

Author: niennie

My endless stream of musings and rambling thoughts stem from my loquacious tendencies and intrinsic need to communicate with members of society. Mostly this blog is a place for me to talk about my passions - teaching, reading, cooking, my family, my lover - and is a tool for me to work on being more introspective.

Leave a Reply

