niennie

twenty-something. girly girl. teacher. puppy-enthusiast.

Share Your World – 2014 Week 4

4 Comments

Share Your World – 2014 Week 4

Props to both Cee and Chris for this week’s questions!  I’m going to greatly enjoy answering these.

 

Do you recharge your energy by going out with friends for a good time or by spending with quiet time alone?

I enjoy going out and on occasion that’s the scene I crave after a long week… however, usually on a Friday night all I want to do is stay at home, drink some wine, write my lesson plans, and then read until I fall asleep at around 9:30 or so.  Ah, the life of a teacher!  Even on weekends, or breaks, or snow days… whenever really… I prefer to snuggle in bed and read.  That’s my “recharging.”  After I’ve caught up on that, then I can go out with friends or to shop.

Share Your World – 2014 Week 4

What is the most number of blankets you’ve ever had on your bed?

This is reminding me of some blizzard in the past few years where we lost power in the house.  We have a generator and a wood stove, however the generator is not hooked up to the blower, so you just kind of have to wait/hope that the heat travels through the house.  The wood furnace is in the basement and my room is on the second floor, though, and even though heat rises it has a lot of house to get through until it reaches my room.  I believe on those few nights that week I slept with 3-4 blankets on the bed while wearing multiple shirts, a sweatshirt, and two pairs of sweatpants.  Those were the nights that I missed having my doggie share my bed with me!

You are invited to a party that will be attended by many fascinating people you never met. Would you attend this party if you were to go by yourself?

Honestly it completely depends on my mood that day.  Sometimes I enjoy going to parties and mingling with new people, with or without my boyfriend.  Sometimes that situation gives me severe social anxiety and I withdraw somewhat.  So it’s really hard for me to say!  I guess if you could GUARANTEE that they’re fascinating AND that they are socially fluent, then I would say yes.  Maybe. 😉

Share Your World – 2014 Week 4

Do you like talking to people on the phone? Or do you prefer voice mail or email?

I used to loathe talking to people on the phone but a few things changed that: one, having a long-distance boyfriend where phone calls were the easiest and best form of communication.  Two, having a good friend living in South Carolina where again, talking on the phone was the easiest way to catch up.  And three, working as a receptionist at a country club made talking on the phone much less stressful because answering the phone was part of my job!  I learned so much about phone communication that way and I believe that I am a better, more-prepared phone caller and message leaver now because it drove me crazy when people didn’t leave all the necessary information in a voice mail to me.  For a year I talked on the phone quite a lot at this job, and it has since taken away anxiety of calling others on the phone.

Except, of course, when I need to call parents… I hate calling parents… in that case, I’d take a face-to-face conference with a parent any day over talking on the phone!  But e-mail is the most convenient out of all of them I think.

Share Your World – 2014 Week 4

All pictures courtesy of google images.

Author: niennie

My endless stream of musings and rambling thoughts stem from my loquacious tendencies and intrinsic need to communicate with members of society. Mostly this blog is a place for me to talk about my passions - teaching, reading, cooking, my family, my lover - and is a tool for me to work on being more introspective.

4 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2014 Week 4

  1. Pingback: Share Your World – 2014 Week 4 | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  2. Pingback: Share Your World-Wk-4 | WoollyMuses

  3. I’d be playing with the dog, the cat, the rat, anything but people!!! Thanks so much for sharing I enjoyed reading your answers. See you next week!

  4. “I would say yes. Maybe”…cute answer.

Leave a Reply

