niennie

twenty-something. girly girl. teacher. puppy-enthusiast.

The Apple Tree – 5

Leave a comment

This morning I finished reading my fifth book of the year (fifth?! That’s it?!  I know, I’m way behind).  It is called The Apple Tree: Raising Five Kids with Disabilities and Remaining Sane.  You can visit the author, Linda Petersen, at her blog here.

As an educator, reading about children with special needs is both interesting and helpful to me.  You never know what you’re going to see in your classroom someday, and as I do not have very much special education experience under my belt (I work in a general ed classroom), I soak up other people’s experiences.  And this woman, to say the least, has had quite the experiences!

Petersen has five children (obviously).  Her oldest is her biological son, and the other four were adopted – three of which adopted after having fostered them as infants and toddlers.  Each of her children has a different disability, but her optimism shows through in her writing.  She is proof that having one – or several – children with disabilities does not mean you cannot lead a happy, fulfilling life!

Her story was powerful and inspiring.  I flew through this book, I just couldn’t put it down.  I very highly recommend it!

Author: niennie

My endless stream of musings and rambling thoughts stem from my loquacious tendencies and intrinsic need to communicate with members of society. Mostly this blog is a place for me to talk about my passions - teaching, reading, cooking, my family, my lover - and is a tool for me to work on being more introspective.

Leave a Reply

