niennie

twenty-something. girly girl. teacher. puppy-enthusiast.

Daimones – 6

Leave a comment

To be perfectly honest, I was rather disappointed after finishing Daimones by Massimo Marino.  I purchased the book ages ago on my kindle and decided to read it, because although I vaguely remember being skeptical that I would like it, but it seemed to be highly recommended.

It took me a little while to get into the story and realize what the point was.  One morning, Dan and his family wake up as on any normal day.  They soon come to realize that they are seemingly the only survivors of some sort of apocalypse.  They begin to prepare themselves for the uncertain future, collecting supplies, weapons, etc. from the deserted world around them.

At this point I started enjoying the story.  They seek out the possibility of other survivors, and indeed they find few.  But the end totally just lost me.  Apparently some group of demi-god type species caused this mass death, and then find the main character and communicate with him about the “real” history of earth and the chosen people and blah blah blah.  Honestly I just lost interest.

I felt let down because after spending all that time reading the book, hoping that some sort of SENSE would come about at the end, I was just like… dude really?

I should’ve known better, as this is the first book in a trilogy, and I typically do not like reading sequels of anything.  I have this feeling often after reading the first book of a series that I do not intend on finishing.  In addition to that, I’m not a huge fan of science fiction, and it has to be a really well put together story for me to enjoy it (obligatory shout out to Ender’s Game).  This book just wasn’t my cup of tea. 

Author: niennie

My endless stream of musings and rambling thoughts stem from my loquacious tendencies and intrinsic need to communicate with members of society. Mostly this blog is a place for me to talk about my passions - teaching, reading, cooking, my family, my lover - and is a tool for me to work on being more introspective.

Leave a Reply

