niennie

twenty-something. girly girl. teacher. puppy-enthusiast.

Insert Cheesy Resort Commercial Song Here

Leave a comment

It’s been a crazy busy past week and a half!  Friday my boyfriend and I flew down to Jamaica for my friend’s destination wedding.  We stayed in Sandals Whitehouse and had an absolutely amazing time.  I enjoyed every part of the trip, even the two hour long shuttle bus ride through the countryside where we dodged potholes, stray dogs, and street vendors.  From talking with our bus driver I learned so much about the country itself, and the people at the resort were all incredibly nice and helpful.  I can’t say enough good things about our trip.

We came back on Monday night, way too short of a stay, but as a teacher I couldn’t take too much time off of work (or afford the longer vacation…).  After a snow day on Tuesday and teaching the rest of the week, this weekend rolled around with another wedding.  Yesterday my boyfriend’s father and his fiance were married.  After the wedding and dinner, we went into the city with my boyfriend’s new step brothers/sisters and family friends.  His new step-family is Korean so we went to K-Town, enjoyed plenty of lychee soju, and later went to a karaoke bar where we sang our hearts out until approximately 3:00 in the morning.  We returned to our hotel room, somehow got roped into talking with drunk guests from a different wedding, and finally made it to bed by about 4:30 am.

My boyfriend rarely works on Sundays but somehow had the misfortune of being scheduled to work today, so we got up around 7:30 and made our way back home so he could get to work by 9:15.

Let me backtrack a little to last week.

After returning from Jamaica, I began to get worried that we hadn’t heard from the lady at the rental office of the apartments that my boyfriend and I are looking to move into in April.  I called and left her a message inquiring about openings, hoping she didn’t forget about us, etc. etc.  She returned my call and left me a message saying that at the moment they had no openings, but she was going to let me know by March 5th at the latest how things were looking.

Miraculously, the day after she left me that message, she called me again.  She said, “it’s the weirdest thing because this never happens… but someone just canceled on a one bedroom luxury apartment so I have an opening for you for April 1st.”  She gave me this news right after I finished eating at a Chinese restaurant where my fortune was Your luck is about to change.  So I was very, very happy… and a little weirded out.

Anyway, so while my boyfriend was at work today, I went and picked up our apartment application!  YAY!  I’m so excited!

Except… now I have to start packing. Ick.

Author: niennie

My endless stream of musings and rambling thoughts stem from my loquacious tendencies and intrinsic need to communicate with members of society. Mostly this blog is a place for me to talk about my passions - teaching, reading, cooking, my family, my lover - and is a tool for me to work on being more introspective.

Leave a Reply

