niennie

twenty-something. girly girl. teacher. puppy-enthusiast.

21, 22

Leave a comment

I can’t believe it took me a month to read two books, but then I remember that in this past month I juggled: moving out into my own apartment with my boyfriend, report cards, completing and submitting my teacher evaluation documentation logs (ugh, Stronge), and all of my regular lesson planning/prep work for school. Also, both books were long ‘uns… not that that’s any excuse because I am a fairly fast reader…

Anyway, 21 was a book called The Banks Of Certain Rivers by Jon Harrison.  An interesting story of a man and his son who have carried on their lives after the wife became brain dead from a tragic accident in a swimming pool. The twist is that the husband might lose his job (and health insurance to support said wife) because of a fake video created by students at the school he works at, “showing” him assaulting some teenagers. I enjoyed the book. I don’t think it’s for everyone, as I just don’t feel like it was very exciting or action packed. It may be too slow for some people.

Book 22 was Fay by Larry Brown. Fay is a 17 year old girl, leaving behind the abusive family and childhood in the south in the 1970-80s ish time frame. She has very little to her name, but even walking down the highway with no destination particular is better than staying at home. She meets various types of people along the way, forming and good relationships and some unhealthy ones too. I really enjoyed this story, and the past few days worked hard to get to the end to find out what happens to the characters, only to be left with an extremely vague ending. If you are the kind of person who wants a clear cut, “this is what happened to so-and-so, and so-and-so went on to do this”, you will be severely disappointed. Honestly I personally am going to pretend I didn’t read the last 5 pages or so and create my own ending in my head that I like. I’m okay with that too (what’s that quote? “I reject your reality and substitute my own”?).

Author: niennie

My endless stream of musings and rambling thoughts stem from my loquacious tendencies and intrinsic need to communicate with members of society. Mostly this blog is a place for me to talk about my passions - teaching, reading, cooking, my family, my lover - and is a tool for me to work on being more introspective.

Leave a Reply

