niennie

twenty-something. girly girl. teacher. puppy-enthusiast.

Can’t win ’em all!

Leave a comment

One thing I’ve really started to love about living on my own is being able to experiment with culinary creations.  While making up the menu for this week I was looking through a binder of recipes I had put together, and came across this recipe for chicken and mushrooms in a garlic white wine sauce.  I had made this before and really loved it, so I decided we would have that this week.  But, as I can be a lazy cook, I was just going to throw everything in the crockpot to make things easier on myself.

The sauce was good.  Thin, but delicious.  I made a side of angel hair pasta and spinach, sauteed with some of the sauce.  But for some reason, the meal just wasn’t that good.  It smelled good.  It looked pretty good.  But there was something missing.  My boyfriend did not like it at all.  I liked everything except for the chicken.  End result?  He ate cold leftover pizza; I ate the chicken (because protein), and then packed my usual lunch of leftovers for tomorrow with everything except the meat.

My only consolation is that nobody but my boyfriend and I had to eat it.  I would’ve felt really bad if I had made that for company…  This is why we always test out recipes first 🙂

Author: niennie

My endless stream of musings and rambling thoughts stem from my loquacious tendencies and intrinsic need to communicate with members of society. Mostly this blog is a place for me to talk about my passions - teaching, reading, cooking, my family, my lover - and is a tool for me to work on being more introspective.

Leave a Reply

