niennie

twenty-something. girly girl. teacher. puppy-enthusiast.

Summer means… READ MOAR BOOKS!

Leave a comment

29 – Shadowlands by C.M. Gray
I believe this was supposed to be a story telling the tale of pre-king Arthur and etc.  I remember thinking that the story sounded interesting so I downloaded it, but I was just bored by the book. I only finished it to find the answers to some of my outstanding questions, but I wouldn’t suggest picking this book up.

30 – The Fault In Our Stars by John Green
I received a nice amount of Amazon gift cards from my class as an end of year present so I allowed myself the luxury of buying books that cost more than $1 (my usual spending limit). I really enjoyed this book. It was sweet and emotional and all that… but you probably know already because who hasn’t read this book?

31 – The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
Endangered. This book was just so.incredibly.amazing.  A toddler, who’s family was murdered, wanders into a graveyard (while unknowingly is being pursued by the killer) and the ghosts vow to raise and protect the boy. The characters were so interesting and I loved the whole idea and premise of the story. Definitely read this one!

32 – The Bees by Laline Paull
Those who know me know that I have a small obsession with the bumblebee… it is my classroom theme and I have a tendency to fly away with bee puns. So when I came across this book on Amazon I couldn’t resist. It was a little tricky to get into at first, but once I was sufficiently wrapped up in the hive mind I just couldn’t put it down. The story centers around Flora, born a sanitation worker, but an anomaly in many ways. Flora moves through the bee society, learning and witnessing more than most, avoiding the fertility police, and hiding her own secrets as best she can. I loved how the author created this society for the bees, almost like a religious cult, a seemingly perfect place but with its own dark secrets. It has also inspired me to do a little bit of research on bees and their habits to see what exactly was true or does happen in hives. I really loved this one!

Author: niennie

My endless stream of musings and rambling thoughts stem from my loquacious tendencies and intrinsic need to communicate with members of society. Mostly this blog is a place for me to talk about my passions - teaching, reading, cooking, my family, my lover - and is a tool for me to work on being more introspective.

Leave a Reply

