niennie

twenty-something. girly girl. teacher. puppy-enthusiast.

33, 34, 35

3 Comments

I should have read at least 36 books by now but I downloaded Red Herring and 7 Little Words on my Kindle and the free games stole my reading time for a few days. Anyways, these last 3 that I read were fabulous.

33 – Guards! Guards! by Terry Pratchett

This book was so much FUN! I went into it thinking it was a YA novel (..??) but I really think I was mistaken. Regardless, it reminded me of Monty Python and the Holy Grail but with less taunting Frenchmen and more dragons. Many more dragons. I don’t know where to begin to describe this book, so I won’t, but I will say this. I don’t like reading sequels or series of anything – usually after book one I will pretend a series is done, make up a fine ending in my brain, and go on with my life. It has to be a very special case for me to seek out the next book… and this is one that I will do that with! Right there, that should speak for itself.

34 – The Family Trap by Joanne Phillips

Kind of a fluffy read by my standards, but I enjoyed the story. The novel opens with the main character’s 16-yr-old daughter giving birth to a baby fathered by a 31 year old. Although not yet married, the two are together. At this time, the main character finds out that she herself is pregnant… by her fiance, who desperately does NOT want children. Oh, and by the way, they’re getting married in a week. What is a woman to do? I won’t ruin any of the story just in case ;). This book sucked me in and I tore through it in about a day and a half.

35 – Zombie, Inc. by Chris Dougherty

I. LOVED. THIS. BOOK!!!!!! If you’re a fan of zombie fiction, or even if you’re not, I HIGHLY recommend this one. It takes place post-zombie apocalypse, where the 5 United States of America have been rebuilding their lives. A huge corporation called Zombie, Inc. has helped to develop products and services (thus creating many jobs) to help consumers cope with their post-apocalyptic lives. They have home defense systems such as yard-zombies, electric fences, and spikes to help deflect both zombie attacks and human burglars. However, like any modern-day corporation, there is some corruption and dishonesty… You should read the novel and find out all of the deadly (undeadly?) secrets!

Author: niennie

My endless stream of musings and rambling thoughts stem from my loquacious tendencies and intrinsic need to communicate with members of society. Mostly this blog is a place for me to talk about my passions - teaching, reading, cooking, my family, my lover - and is a tool for me to work on being more introspective.

3 thoughts on “33, 34, 35

  1. Hey 🙂

    just thought I would let you know I really like your blog, its really nice but simple, easy to read.

    you have a new follower 🙂 look forward to your next post!!

    Emily

  2. Good 🙂 enjoy the rest of your day!

    if you like my blog please feel free to follow me too!! 🙂

    Emily! x

Leave a Reply

