niennie

twenty-something. girly girl. teacher. puppy-enthusiast.

39 & 40

Leave a comment

39:  In Love with Nowhere by Ezra White

I knew that it was going to happen sometime soon… The last six or so books I read were SO incredibly fabulous, I couldn’t believe my luck.  I knew that sooner or later I’d find a book I really didn’t like very much but pushed through anyway.  I started and abandoned two books before this one, and considered abandoning this one when I was about 75% of the way through it because it just kind of lost my interest.  But I wasn’t lazy and I finished it.

I like the premise of the story.  The idea is that a famous author has fallen into a severe drug and alcoholic addiction.  In order to get clean and revive his career, his agent sends him to a remote cabin in the woods, leaving him completely alone to face his demons.  The author has access to a blog to write about his experiences coming off the drugs.  All the time he can’t tell if the creepy writing on the walls and the shadowy figures are real or his hallucinating imagination as he goes through withdrawal.  It reminded me a little of the new Evil Dead movie, except without the evil dead and all that.  Yeah.  So really it was just that 30-second blip of the movie where it was similar.

Anyway, I just wasn’t really into the book, it was supposed to be a thriller but I wasn’t really thrilled, and the ending was fucking weird and I didn’t feel like it fit the rest of the book.  All in all, I think the book just didn’t live up to my brain’s idea of what the story should have been like… and I wouldn’t recommend anyone waste their time on this.

 

40:  The Chocolate Money by Ashley Prentice Norton

Luckily, this book did not disappoint me.  As a side note, I started this book this morning in bed (right after finishing #39) and finished it about half an hour ago.  I love reading an entire book in a day!

The book is told from the perspective of Bettina, whose mother (Babs) is rich beyond all belief as she inherited a fortune from a famous chocolate company.  Babs is, to put it nicely, bat shit crazy and not a very good mother.  She exposes her daughter to her sexual exploits, insults her openly, and generally treats the girl like a convenient plaything instead of a child.  Regardless, Bettina’s experiences are rather interesting to read about.  Half of the novel takes place when Bettina is shipped off to a very pristine boarding school.  I don’t know why this surprised me, but it did.  Not in a bad way.  The ending of this book was so fitting, and the dinner with her uncle!  I won’t say anymore.  Just wow.  I loved it.

Author: niennie

My endless stream of musings and rambling thoughts stem from my loquacious tendencies and intrinsic need to communicate with members of society. Mostly this blog is a place for me to talk about my passions - teaching, reading, cooking, my family, my lover - and is a tool for me to work on being more introspective.

Leave a Reply

