niennie

twenty-something. girly girl. teacher. puppy-enthusiast.

50 and beyond

Leave a comment

Well it’s taken me a long time to get around to this post.  I did finish book #50 before school started, which made me happy.  But once school started I just never got around to blogging about it.  So here we go!

50 – Graveyard Shift by Angela Roquet

A novel about death and the afterlife.  It follows the main character who is a reaper and moves souls to the afterlife of their religion… and then eventually finds out that Grim (the head reaper in charge) has some very specific, important plans for her.

I really enjoyed this book.  It’s complicated to explain, but I loved how Roquet wound all the different beliefs together.  It felt so natural to me, because I like to believe that we can all just get along regardless of our religious and/or spiritual views.  Anyway, that makes it sound like it was something it’s not – which is a religious book.  I don’t tend to read those.

51 – Boardwalk Empire by Nelson Johnson

I’d been wanting to read it before I watched the HBO series because that’s just how I am with books and visual media.  It was actually very interesting.  Being a Jersey girl myself, it felt closer to home, even though I’ve only been a few times.  I learned a lot about Atlantic City though and now I’m even more excited to make the pilgrimage down there for the teacher convention in November 🙂

52 – Where We Belong by Catherine Ryan Hyde

I’ve read a few of her books now and just love them all.  This one is about Angie – a teenager who is helping her sister (who has autism) and her single mother survive homelessness, hunger, and poverty.  While staying with a distant relative the family discovers that the neighbor’s Great Dane is one of the only things that can keep Angie’s sister calm and quiet.  What happens when the neighbor moves to the mountains a few weeks later…?

As I said, I loved this book, and it was the first one to really make me BAWL MY FREAKING EYES OUT!  Unfortunately, dog lovers understand that Great Danes don’t live a long time and this particular dog wasn’t a spring chicken in the book… and let’s just say that her passing hit me very close to home and made me miss my late hound doggie.  Plus the feels of the characters… she is absolutely magic with character development.  All resulting in tears for me… but don’t let that stop you from reading it! ;D

53 – Every Ugly Word by Aimee L. Salter

Ashley has been bullied mercilessly throughout her high school and middle school life, all along coached by her future self, whom she can see when she looks into a mirror.  The story is told in flashbacks (sort of), which I usually detest in a book, but I’m glad that I stuck with it because it turned out to be different than it seemed in the end.

The book was truly heartbreaking, and for people who don’t believe that bullying is a problem in school, I would recommend reading this book.  It was raw and full of emotion, and reading it helped me to realize that everyone has flaws of their own.  No one is truly perfect, so it’s important that we learn to embrace those flaws in the ones we love and hold dear.

54 – The Maze Runner by James Dashner

This morning my boyfriend said, “let’s go see Maze Runner tonight.”  Never having heard of this movie I looked up the trailer, and then found out the movie was based on a book.  Of course that meant I had to download the book and read it before we went to the movie and I worked on it all afternoon.

The book was a-maze-ing (ha ha).  I was having difficulty focusing on the story at first but once I started getting into it, it was just fantastic.  And (GASP) this is a book where I will read the sequels!

Long story short, we never ended up going to see the movie tonight… but that’s okay… the book was worth it 🙂

Author: niennie

My endless stream of musings and rambling thoughts stem from my loquacious tendencies and intrinsic need to communicate with members of society. Mostly this blog is a place for me to talk about my passions - teaching, reading, cooking, my family, my lover - and is a tool for me to work on being more introspective.

Leave a Reply

