niennie

twenty-something. girly girl. teacher. puppy-enthusiast.

Dystopia and butterflies

Leave a comment

9. The Island by Jen Minkman

A dystopian novella about an island where parents send their children away from the village at age 10, not to return until they’ve “grown up” and found a spouse.  No one ever leaves or comes to the island.

On the other half of the island, there is another village of people who believe there is something beyond the water. They are called the Fools by the first group.

I enjoyed this story a lot, although I wish it had been fleshed out more and made into a full novel. The idea is really intriguing.  It just went so fast, and I didn’t want to read sequels… I just wanted more out of the book.

10. Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver

Quite the opposite of the last. Simply put, a group of monarchs winter on a farm in rural Tennessee, setting off a series of events that change the lives of many in the town.

This is the first Kingsolver book I’ve read and all I can say is her writing is dense! The story was excellent. It took me a minute to get into it, but once I did I got really swept up in the story.

Usually I am a fan of truthful, believable endings over happy ones, but I was slightly disappointed by Dellarobia’s decision in the end. It makes perfect sense, of course, but somehow deep down I wished she would’ve found a way to love and accept her husband for the man he was.

I finished this one last night, so technically I read 9 1/2 books in January. Off to a good start!

Author: niennie

My endless stream of musings and rambling thoughts stem from my loquacious tendencies and intrinsic need to communicate with members of society. Mostly this blog is a place for me to talk about my passions - teaching, reading, cooking, my family, my lover - and is a tool for me to work on being more introspective.

Leave a Reply

